We now have 822 teams &  
177,862 games on

Search Site

AHSFHS Article Series

   The best of the best in Alabama High   
  School Football over the past 100 seasons.




MOBILE - Three players originally selected for the Alabama All-Star football team 37-man roster have been replaced, according to Steve Bailey, director of the Alabama High School Athletic Directors and Coaches Association.

Prattville running back Justin Albert, Auburn defensive back Dee Finley and St. Paul's defensive back Louis Watson each dropped off the team due to injuries and have been replaced by Reggie Hunt of Daphne, Aaron Ward of Alma Bryant and Marcal Robinson of Vigor.

Both teams reported to Brookley Field in Mobile Wednesday afternoon. Practice begins for the upcoming 21st annual Alabama-Mississippi All-Star Classic to be played at Ladd-Peebles Stadium next Monday night, Dec. 17, at 7 p.m.

Alabama All-Star head coach is Jackie O'Neal of Reeltown, a 28-year coaching veteran who guided Reeltown High School to the Class 1A state football championship in 2001 and into the finals three other times. He also coached Reeltown's girls to the Class 2A basketball finals last winter.

O'Neal, who served as an assistant in the 1992 classic won by Mississippi 17-14 and again in the 2002 contest won by Alabama 29-17 will be joined on the Alabama coaching staff by Glenn Vickery (offensive coordinator) of Daphne, L. C. Cole (defensive coordinator) of Sidney Lanier, Jack Hankins of Thomasville, Dan Klages of Eufaula, Jerry Hill of Brooks and Brett Burnett of Pelham.

The annual game has been stage since its inception in June but is being played in December for the first time. The date change was necessitated by the earlier summer reporting date required of many senior players by their respective colleges and universities.

"This year's squad has had the fewest roster changes ever," said Bailey. "We're excited about the players coming in.

Headlining the Alabama team is 2007 Mr. Football Julio Jones of Foley. The senior wide receiver is regarded as one of the top prep prospects in the nation and is ranked No. 1 by ESPN's recruiting analysts.

Jones, a 6-foot-4, 215-pound senior, finished the 2007 season with 68 catches for 1,133 yards and 16 touchdowns a year after recording 75 receptions for 1,301 yards and 15 scores. He missed all or part of four games this season due to injuries but still managed impressive numbers. He is currently being recruited by virtually every Division I-A program in the nation.

Quarterbacking the Alabama roster are Prattville's Casey Weston and Briarwood Christian's Barrett Trotter. Trotter, an Auburn early commitment, was named Class 5A Back of the Year by the Alabama Sports Writers Association earlier this week. He led the Lions to a 14-1 record and a berth in the Class 5A championship game at Legion Field last weekend where Briarwood lost a heartbreaker to St. Paul's 14-13.

Weston led Prattville to a 15-0 record - extending the Lions winning streak to 30 games with a 14-0 victory over Spain Park in the Super 6 Class 6A finals last Saturday.

Alabama won last year's Classic with a record 51-14 victory and currently holds a 14-6 edge in the series with two wins in a row and eight of the last nine dating back to 1999.

PRACTICE SCHEDULE: The Alabama squad will practice twice Thursday with the morning session from 9 to 11 a.m. at Ladd-Peebles Stadium and the afternoon session from 2 to 4 p.m. at Murphy High School. Mississippi is practicing at UMS-Wright Thursday morning at Ladd-Peebles Stadium Thursday afternoon.

MEDIA NIGHT: Media Night will be held Thursday night at Ladd-Peebles Stadium at 7 p.m. Media will able to conduct interviews with players and coaches from both teams.

TICKET INFORMATION: Tickets are $7.00 and can be obtained through the Ladd-Peebles Stadium ticket office.

NOTE: The complete Alabama roster is listed:


QUARTERBACKS: Barrett Trotter of Briarwood Christian and Casey Weston of Prattville.

RUNNING BACKS: Reggie Hunt, Daphne, Anthony Landrum of Sweet Water, Mike Abernathy of Russellville and Justin Rogers of Vestavia Hills.

WIDE RECEIVERS/TIGHT ENDS: Julio Jones of Foley, DeKendrick Moncrief of Prattville, Daniel Berry of Colbert Heights, Kyle Mitchell of Brooks, and Courtney Upshaw of Eufaula.

OFFENSIVE LINEMEN: Peter Drey of McGill-Toolen, Matt Jones of Hoover, John Michael Boswell of Tuscaloosa County, Antoine McClain of Anniston, Charlie Sanford of Cullman, Josh Tatum of Marbury and Carson Anderson of Florence.

PUNTER/KICKER: Ryan Whatley of Houston Academy.

DEFENSIVE LINEMEN: Jomarcus Savage of J.O. Johnson, Andrew White of Hoover, Zach Payne of Spain Park, Daniel Forester of Briarwood Christian and Kynjee Cotton of Daphne.

DEFENSIVE END/LINEBACKERS: William Green of Spain Park, Willie Bohannon of Blount, Brandon Lewis of Pleasant Grove, Jerrell Harris of Gadsden, Adrien Cole of McGill-Toolen, Geoffery "Bo" Walters of Briarwood Christian and Jacoby Thomas of Murphy.

DEFENSIVE BACKS: Burton Scott of Vigor, Wesley Neighbors of Huntsville, Robert Lester of Foley, D'Antoine Hood of Central-Phenix City, Aaron Ward of Alma Bryant and Marcal Robinson of Vigor.. Paul's.

COACHING STAFF: Jackie O'Neal, Reeltown (head coach); Assistants: Glenn Vickery, Daphne; L.C. Cole, Sidney Lanier; Jack Hankins, Thomasville; Dan Klages, Eufaula; Jerry Hill, Brooks; Brett Burnett, Pelham.


NOTE: The complete Mississippi roster is listed:

QUARTERBACKS: Bret Jefcoat of Itawamba AHS, Charles Rancifer of Brookhaven.

RUNNING BACKS: Vic Ballard of Pascagoula, Darius Barksdale of South Panola, Meco Brown of Moss Point and Albert Richard of Picayune.

WIDE RECEIVERS/TIGHT ENDS: DeAndre Brown of Ocean Springs, Arceto Clark of Shannon, Chris Lofton of Raleigh, Simmie Yarboroug of Brookhaven and Ramon Blakeney of Northeast Jones.

OFFENSIVE LINEMEN: John Paul Alford of Kosciusko, Quartney Cox of West Point, Brian Evans of Oxford, Oliver Galicki of St. Andrews, Quin Sanford of South Panola, Avis Shelton of West Point and Tobias Smith of Columbus.

PUNTER/KICKER: Brett Baer of Brandon.

DEFENSIVE LINEMEN: Willie Packer of Moss Point, Terrance Pope of South Panola, Bo Tillman of Franklin County, Josh Tillman of Franklin County and Andre Wadley of Hernando.

DEFENSIVE END/LINEBACKERS: Josh Chestang of Moss Point, Sylvester Hemphill of Olive Brance, Antonio Hoskins of Water Valley, Tyler Kittrell of Oak Grove, Trevor Stigers of Ridgeland and Andre Wadley of Hernando.

DEFENSIVE BACKS: Akeem Davis of Laurel, Derrick Herman of Cleveland, Alonzo Lawrence of George County, Charles Mitchell of Clarksdale, Kendrick Presley of Kosciusko and Delmon Robinson of Vicksburg.

ATHLETE: Matthew Willis of Puckett.

COACHING STAFF: Kenny Robinson, Mize (head coach); Assistants: Trent Hammond, Water Valley; Anthony Hart, LaFayette County; Bubba Hathorn, Northeast Jones; Derrick Hooker, South Delta; Phil Oakley, Senatobia; Shannon White, North Forrest.

Great Moments in Alabama High School Football History

The Prattville Lions won 56 consecutive regular season games between 2001 and 2007.