We now have 827 teams &  
180,575 games on

Search Site

AHSFHS Article Series

   The best of the best in Alabama High   
  School Football over the past 100 seasons.

1967 Jones Valley at Butler

1967 Butler - Jones Valley
1967 Jones Valley at Butler

This 1967 matchup between playoff teams would give the winner a shot at defending state champions Sidney Lanier. This was the first season that Alabama held an actual playoff system with two rounds.

Butler took advantage of a high snap from center to score a touchdown which changed the complexion of the Rebel's game against Jones Valley. Butler went on to defeat Jones Valley 20-13 in Huntsville. It was a ground battle with all five touchdowns coming on short runs.

Bill Baker, Leonard Thomas and Arnold Ballentine scored for Butler on runs of 1, 4 and 7 yards. Jones Valley running back Jimmy Martin scored for the Brownies on 1 and 12 yard runs. His second half score came with just 1:55 remaining in the game.

Butler pilled up 246 yards rushing and 40 passing to Jones Valley's 183 on the ground and 57 through the air. Butler got the ball on the Jones Valley 27 in the third quarter after a bad snap by the Brownie center. The Rebs went on in to score the touchdown that put them up by 14 points.

* - Butler is in the dark jerseys while Jones Valley is wearing gold.
** - 3:15 minutes

Many thanks to our friend Bill Grubbs for providing this and other game videos of Birmingham area teams. is in the process of collecting video of high school football games from around the state. If you are in possession of any interesting videos we would appreciate a copy of the game or games. We have the capability to make copies of VHS and DVDs. We can also convert VHS tapes to DVD. If you would like to include your copies in our collection contact me at

Utmost care will be taken to return the game to you if it is the only copy you have. Help us preserve the history of high school football in Alabama and share it with others.

Great Moments in Alabama High School Football History

The Morgan Academy Senators have appeared in 14 state championship games from 1984-2008, winning the title 11 times.