We now have 834 teams &  
188,070 games on

Search Site

AHSFHS Article Series

   The best of the best in Alabama High   
  School Football over the past 100 seasons.

Alabama All-Star Game


      The North stars captured a second straight victory in a 3-0 triumph on a wet field. Andrew Anderson of Carver (Birmingham) kicked a 22-yard field goal late in the first quarter before an estimated 4,200 fans who braved the rainy night.

      Quarterbacks Leslie Ferguson of Russellville and Cameron Mims of Hartselle drove the North 46 yards to the South six setting up the game's only points. Anderson's kick from the 12 hit the upright but fell over the crossbar.

      Mims, named the game's Most Valuable Back, gained 54 yards on ten carries and hit three of five passes for 27 yards. Ferguson had 28 yards in eight carries and Anderson caught two passes for 33 yards. Curtis Stewart of Jeff Davis led South rushers with 41 yards.

      Willie Pless of Anniston led the North defense with eight tackles and two fumble recoveries and earned Most Valuable Lineman honors. Michael Chambliss of B. B. Comer and Patrick Swoopes of Bradshaw were other top North defenders. Patrick Thomas of Williamson,

      Derrick Richardson of Eufaula and Brent Gilbert of Northview paced the South defense.

      The South, tying an All-Star record, lost four of its seven fumbles while the North lost only two of its ten. There were no penalties in the game.

 North Roster 
 Player   Team   Position   Ht.   Wt.   Class   College 
 Andrew Anderson  Carver Birmingham QB6-1 185Sr.  Southern Miss
 Gregory Barbee  Stevenson DE5-10 195Sr.  Tennessee
 Collis Campbell  Coffee FB6-0 205Sr.  Auburn
 Michael Chambliss  B.B. Comer NG6-3 230Sr.  Tennessee State
  Marlin Chapman  Hartselle DT6-5 246Sr.  Austin Peay
 Demetrius Cotchery  Carver Birmingham LB6-2 200Sr.  Auburn
 Alex Dudchock  Minor DE6-4 230Sr.  Auburn
 Leslie Fergeson  Russellville S6-1 190Sr.  Jacksonville State
 Chris Goode  Hazlewood CB6-1 175Sr.  Alabama
 Jon Hand  Sylacauga DL6-6 265Sr.  Alabama
 Rodney Jarmon  Coffee QB6-2 185Sr.  Alabama
 David Johnson  Butler T6-5 260Sr.  Alabama
 Ralph Malone  Bob Jones TE6-5 215Sr.  Georgia Tech
  Mike Marks  Coffee DT6-6 249Sr.  North Alabama
 Ben McCurdy  Ider LB6-3 225Sr.  Auburn
 Kim Miller  Winston County OL6-1 220Sr.  Mississippi College
 Cameron Mims  Hartselle QB5-11 165Sr.  Houston
 Wes Neighbors  Huntsville LB6-2 230Sr.  Alabama
 Gary Otten  Lee Huntsville C6-6 250Sr.  Alabama
 Kevin Parker  Randolph County FL6-0 173Sr.  Troy State
 Jeff Parks  Gardendale TE6-4 235Sr.  Auburn
 Willie Pless  Anniston LB6-1 218Sr.  Kansas
 Eric Richardson  Parker CB6-0 175Sr.  Southern Miss
 Tyrone Robinson  Bridgeport QB6-4 190Sr.  Tennessee
 Walter Smith  Athens RB 180Sr.  Middle Tennessee
 Charles Spangler  Hazelwood G6-1 215Sr.  
 Patrick Swoopes  Bradshaw G6-3 238Sr.  Mississippi State
  Chris Tease  Bradshaw S6-1 187Sr.  Troy State
 Tony Truelove  Sulligent RB5-11 185Sr.  Livingston State
 David Vinson  Red Bay T6-5 240Sr.  Auburn
 Stuart Whitener  Butler LB6-0 220Sr.  Mississippi State
 Stevie Williams  Hartselle RB6-1 165Sr.  Iowa State

 South Roster 
 Player   Team   Position   Ht.   Wt.   Class   College 
 Tommie Agee  Maplesville RB6-0 195Sr.  Auburn
 Todd Burkhalter  Leeds TE6-4 228Sr.  Auburn
 Neal Chase  Dadeville DB6-1 185Sr.  
 Greg Conner  Theodore QB6-2 205Sr.  Southern Miss
  Alan Evans  Enterprise RB6-0 195Sr.  Auburn
 Russ Foshee  Benjamin Russell S6-0 198Sr.  NE Oklahoma Jr. College
 Brent Gilbert  Northview NG6-2 218Sr.  Auburn
 Joseph Godwin  New Brockton DE6-1 202Sr.  Alabama
 Curt Gore  Fairhope T6-4 250Sr.  LSU
 Doug Hill  Banks OL6-6 235Sr.  Florida State
 Steve Holloway  Jeff Davis FL6-3 201Sr.  Tennessee State
 Bo Jackson  McAdory RB6-1 220Sr.  Auburn
 Shon Lee  Prattville S6-0 192Sr.  Alabama
 Felix Lockhart  Dadeville DT5-9 230Sr.  
 Rick Long  Thompson G5-10 205Sr.  Marion Military
 Greg McCall  Prattville DL6-2 305Sr.  Troy State
 Andre Pollard  Sidney Lanier SE6-0 168Sr.  Troy State
 Steve Posey  Andalusia DE6-4 225Sr.  Auburn
 Derrick Richardson  Eufaula DT5-11 210Sr.  Mississippi State
 Larry Roberts  Northview TE6-5 245Sr.  Alabama
 Freddie Robinson  Davidson CB6-1 178Sr.  Alabama
 Derrick Slaughter  Banks LB6-1 232Sr.  Alabama
 Curtis Stewart  Jeff Davis RB6-0 200Sr.  Auburn
 Randall Stokes  Tallassee G6-4 245Sr.  Auburn
 Patrick Thomas  Williamson LB6-0 210Sr.  Auburn
 Patrick Washington  Murphy QB6-2 195Sr.  Auburn
 Vernon Wilkerson  Enterprise CB6-1 178Sr.  Alabama
 Bart Williams  Berry C6-1 215Sr.  Troy State
  Gerald Williams  Valley NG 260Sr.  

Great Moments in Alabama High School Football History

Alabama School for the Deaf won Deaf School National Championships in 1971, 1987, 1991, 2000, 2001 and 2002.