We now have 834 teams &  
188,070 games on

Search Site

AHSFHS Article Series

   The best of the best in Alabama High   
  School Football over the past 100 seasons.

1952 Bessemer City Purple Tigers

 1952    Bessemer City Purple Tigers
 Record: 10-0-0
 Head Coach: Euil Snitz Snider
 The 1952 Bessemer City Purple Tigers were chosen Class AAA State Champions by the Birmingham News


Butler and Bessemer entered their Thanksgiving matchup with identical 9-0 season records and a state championship on the line.

The home standing Bessemer Tigers entered the game ranked number one and Butler arrived in Bessemer ranked number two.

Harold Argo scored two touchdowns and Jimmy Thompson another as the two backs led Bessemer to a 27-7 rout to remove any doubt about who was the 1952 state champion.

1952  Season
 Site   PF   Opponent   PA   W/L/T 
 28   Anniston W
 27   West End W
 27   Ensley W
 35   Gadsden W
 20   Woodlawn W
 27   Phillips Birmingham W
 21   Fairfield W
 12   Ramsay W
 48   Jones Valley 14 W
 27   Butler W
272 10-0-0 38

1952 Bessemer All-State Players
 Jimmy ThompsonB AAA 1  Birmingham News
 E.G. TaylorG AAA 1  Birmingham News
 Frank ChristyT AAA 1  Birmingham News
 Frank ChristyT AAA 1  Birmingham News
 Jimmy ThompsonB AAA 1  Birmingham News
 Red RobersonE AAA 1  Birmingham News
 E.G. TaylorG AAA 2  Birmingham News
 Don StevensonC AAA 2  Birmingham News
 Harold ArgoB AAA 2  Birmingham News
 Don JonesG AAA 3  Birmingham News
 Jimmy StaggeB AAA 3  Birmingham News
 Red RobersonE AAA 1  Birmingham News
 Frank ChristyT AAA 1  Birmingham News
 Jimmy ThompsonB AAA 1  Birmingham News

1952 Bessemer All-Star Players
 All Southern   
 E.G. Taylor G AAA  Birmingham News
 Frank Christy T AAA  Birmingham News
 AHSAA-University of Alabama All-Star Game   
 E.G. Taylor LG AAA  Birmingham News
 Jimmy Thompson RHB AAA  Birmingham News
 Frank Christy RT AAA  Birmingham News

Great Moments in Alabama High School Football History

Hazlewood won five consecutive state championships from 1988-1992. During this span the Golden Bears won 29 playoff games in a row.