We now have 834 teams &  
188,070 games on

Search Site

AHSFHS Article Series

   The best of the best in Alabama High   
  School Football over the past 100 seasons.

1990 State Championship Final Summaries

1990 Class 4A State Championship Game
Deshler vs. T.R. Miller
 Site  PF   Opponent  PA   WLT  OT    
42   Bradshaw 14 W  
34   Muscle Shoals 14 W  
40   Wenonah 12 W  
46   East Lawrence W  
40   Lawrence County W  
28   Russellville 14 W  
48   Lexington W  
28   Coffee W  
56   Colbert County 21 W  
49   Sheffield W  
48   Brooks W  1st Rd
36   Curry 13 W  2nd Rd
35   North Jackson 13 W  3rd Rd
42   Munford 19 W  Semi
28   T.R. Miller 27 W OT  Finals
60015-0-0 160
Region Record  3-0
T.R. Miller
 Site  PF   Opponent  PA   WLT  OT    
36   Andalusia 13 W  
13   Daphne W  
28   Monroe County W  
49   Washington County 22 W  
22   Escambia County 20 W  
31   Alba W  
27   Hillcrest Evergreen W  
28   Woodham FL 17 W  
42   W.S. Neal 14 W  
33   Clarke County 27 W  1st Rd
27   Daleville 21 W 2OT  2nd Rd
14   Pike County 12 W  3rd Rd
35   B.B. Comer 22 W  Semi
27   Deshler 28 L OT  Finals
41213-1-0 211
Region Record  4-0
Game Summary
0 0 7 14 7 -- 28
T.R. Miller
7 7 7 0 6 -- 27
 Scoring Summaries: 
T.R. Miller: Ron Gibson 10 yard run (Brian Dasinger PAT)
T.R. Miller: Ron Gibson 21 yard run (Brian Dasinger PAT)
Deshler: Anthony Morris 5 yard run (Kyle McKinney PAT)
T.R. Miller: James Fountain 21 yard run (Brian Dasinger PAT)
Deshler: Corey Donley 83 yard pass from Scott Thompson (PAT no good)
Deshler: Doug Garrett 3 yard pass from Scott Thompson (Patrick Smith run) 0:03
Deshler: Doug Garrett yard run (Kyle McKinney PAT) Overtime
T.R. Miller: Ron Gibson 10 yard run (PAT no good) Overtime
  Deshler T.R. Miller
First Downs12 13
Rush/Yards107 249
Pass/Yards164 36
Pass att/com/int22-11-0 5-3-1
Total Yards271 285
Fumbles/Lost0 0
Punt/Avg.2-18.0 4-32.0
Penalties5 38
Time of Poss.  
Game MVP:
Records: Deshler (15-0); T.R. Miller (13-1)
Coaches: Tandy Geralds, Deshler and Jamie Riggs, T.R. Miller
Game: Friday December 14, 1990 Howard Chappell Stadium, Tuscumbia
                 In the first half it was all T.R. Miller as the defense held Deshler to one first down and 33 total yards. Meanwhile, the Tigers racked up 11 first downs and 182 yards to take a commanding 14-0 halftime lead. The second half would prove to be very different as Deshler would comeback to score 28 points and win the game on a missed conversion try in overtime.
                 Deshler had tied the game with three seconds remaining in regulation on a three yard pass from Scott Thompson to Doug Garrett. Patrick Smith bulled his way for the two point conversion to tie the game. Garrett would score on the second play of overtime and Kyle McKinney kicked the extra point to seal the win. T.R. Miller would score on the first play of overtime on their possession but the point after was just wide and the championship belonged to Deshler.
Great Moments in Alabama High School Football History

The Super 6 State Championships began in 1996. Since then all title games were played at Legion Field in Birmingham until 2009.