We now have 834 teams &  
188,070 games on

Search Site

AHSFHS Article Series

   The best of the best in Alabama High   
  School Football over the past 100 seasons.

1991 State Championship Final Summaries

1991 Class 4A State Championship Game
T.R. Miller vs. Deshler
T.R. Miller
 Site  PF   Opponent  PA   WLT  OT    
23   Andalusia W  
14   Daphne W  
34   Monroe County W  
50   Washington County W  
 Escambia County W  
31   Alba W  
29   Hillcrest Evergreen 19 W  
30   Woodham FL W  
 W.S. Neal W  
30   Clarke County W  1st Rd
16   Daleville 14 W  2nd Rd
36   Pike County 22 W  3rd Rd
39   Handley 20 W  Semi
46   Deshler W  Finals
39214-0-0 109
Region Record  4-0
 Site  PF   Opponent  PA   WLT  OT    
33   Bradshaw W  
42   Muscle Shoals W  
27   Wenonah W  
41   East Lawrence W  
21   Lawrence County W  
22   Russellville 14 W  
12   Coffee W  
28   Colbert County 14 W  
41   Sheffield W  
42   Brooks 12 W  1st Rd
42   Curry 16 W  2nd Rd
28   North Jackson 14 W  3rd Rd
15   Litchfield 12 W  Semi
 T.R. Miller 46 L  Finals
40013-1-0 162
Region Record  3-0
Game Summary
T.R. Miller
10 10 7 19 -- 46
6 0 0 0 -- 6
 Scoring Summaries: 
Miller: Terence Samuel 11 yard run (Chip Hines PAT)
Deshler: Chad Gann 1 yard run (PAT no good)
Miller: Chip Hines 44 yard field goal
Miller: Willie Smith 1 yard run (Chip Hines PAT)
Miller: Chip Hines 32 yard field goal 0:00
Miller: Tim Pettis 76 yard pass from Terence Samuel (Chip Hines PAT)
Miller: Willie Smith 7 yard run (Chip Hines PAT)
Miller: James Fountain 8 yard run (PAT no good)
Miller: Antonio Grant 17 yard run (PAT no good)
  Miller Deshler
First Downs20 11
Rush/Yards322 162
Pass/Yards152 44
Pass att/com/int10-7-0 15-5-0
Total Yards474 208
Fumbles/Lost1 2
Punt/Avg.0-0 3-37.0
Penalties23 0
Time of Poss.  
Game MVP:
Records: T.R. Miller (14-0); Deshler (13-1)
Coaches: Jamie Riggs, T.R. Miller and Tandy Geralds, Deshler
Game: Played Friday December 13, 1991 at Municipal Stadium, Brewton
             T.R. Miller would lay claim not only to their first undefeated season since 1969 but to their third state championship by defeating the defending 4A champs Deshler. It was a rematch of the 1991 title game with very different results.
             Unlike last year when the Tigers blew a 14-0 lead only to lose in overtime 28-27, Miller built a 20-6 halftime lead and then continued to dominate in the second half when a 76 yard bomb from Samuel to Tim Pettis opened the game up and gave Miller a 27-6 lead. James Fountain led the way with 200 yards rushing and two touchdowns.
             Miller amassed a total of 501 yards and 21 first downs on the evening. Samuel would finish the night with 151 yards passing by completing 7 of 17 passes.
Great Moments in Alabama High School Football History

Marion County defeated Meek 83-6 in a playoff game in 2012. It is the most points scored by a team in a playoff game.