We now have 834 teams &  
188,070 games on

Search Site

AHSFHS Article Series

   The best of the best in Alabama High   
  School Football over the past 100 seasons.

Monroe County All Star Players and Awards

Monroe County Tigers
Monroe County High School

212 Tiger Drive Monroeville, AL 36460
Stadium: Tiger Stadium
Colors: Navy & Gold
Coach: Shannon Felder
Region: 3A-R1
Other Sports

 Honored Players 
 Player   Year   Pos.   Class   Ht.   Wt.   Award   College   Source 
 Alabama vs. Mississippi All Star Game 
 Sidney Carmichael1988 RB Sr.6-1205  
 All Southern 
 Steve Ramer1986 LB HM  Orlando Sentinel
 AHSAA-University of Alabama All-Star Game 
  Mickey Ryland1960 T Sr.6-2220 South Auburn 
 Sam Williams1961 HB Sr.170 South  
  Robert Lloyd1961 G Sr.5-11195 South  
  Pete Black1970 SE Sr.6-0185 South Alabama 

 All State Players 
 Player   Pos.   Class   Ht.   Wt.   Team   College   Source 
 2003   4A 
 Nick MadisonTE Sr. HM   ASWA
 Nick MadisonTE Sr. HM   BN
 2001   5A 
 Travis GranberryP Sr.6-4235 HM   BN
 Travis GranberryP Sr.6-4235 1st   ASWA
 1996   5A 
 Derrick StallworthOL Sr. HM   BN
 1995   5A 
 Derek ScottDL Sr.6-3240 HM   ASWA
 Derek ScottDL Sr.6-3240 1st   BN
 Eric ScottLB Sr. HM   BN
 Eric ScottLB Sr. HM   ASWA
 1994   5A 
 David PleasantLB Sr.6-2230 1st   ASWA
 David PleasantLB Sr.6-2230 HM   BN
 1993   5A 
 David PleasantLB Jr.6-1228 HM   BN
 David PleasantLB Jr.6-1228 HM   ASWA
 1988   5A 
 Sidney CarmichaelRB Sr.6-1205 1st   BN
 1987   5A 
 Jerome BettsDB Sr.6-1175 1st   BN
 Jerome BettsDB Sr.6-1180 1st   ASWA
 Sidney CarmichaelRB Jr. HM   ASWA
 1986   5A 
 George CokerOL Sr.6-2247 HM   ASWA
 George CokerOL Sr.6-2247 1st   BN
 Steve RamerLB Sr.6-3230 1st   BN
 Steve RamerLB Sr.6-2220 1st   ASWA
 1985   5A 
 Jeff DyessL HM   ASWA
 Steve RamerLB Jr. HM   BN
 1984   5A 
 Harold TolsonOL HM   BN
 Jerry BettsLB HM   BN
 Jerry BettsLB HM   ASWA
 1977   3A 
 McCantsB HM   BN
 WigginsG HM   BN
 1976   3A 
 SmithG HM   BN
 1974   3A 
 John BartlettE HM   BN
 John BartlettE HM   BPH
 1968   3A 
 StallworthE HM   BN
 1965   1A/2A 
 Mike SegersE Sr.225 2nd   BN
 Mike SegersE Sr.225 2nd   BPH
 1964   1A/2A 
 Coy TatumB HM   BN
 Coy TatumB HM   BPH
 Coy TatumB HM   AP
 1963   1A/2A 
 Tim JonesE Sr.187 2nd   BN
 Tim JonesE Sr.187 2nd   BPH
 1962   2A 
 Lewis HaylesB HM   BPH
 Rudy NettlesT HM   BPH
 1961   2A 
 Jerry SmithermanT 2nd   BPH
 Robert LloydB HM   BPH
 Robert LloydB HM   BN
 Sam WilliamsB HM   BPH
 1960   1A 
 Branchard TuckerE HM   BN
 Branchard TuckerE 2nd   BPH
 Mickey RylandT Sr.175 HM   ASWA
 Mickey RylandT Sr.210 2nd   MA
 Mickey RylandT Sr.210 1st   BPH
 Mickey RylandT Sr.212 1st   BN
 1959   1A 
 RylandT HM   MA
 TuckerE HM   MA
 1957   A 
 KennedyE HM   MA
 TaitQB HM   MA
 VickeryE HM   MA
 1956   A 
 LedkinsE HM   MA
 1955   A 
 FowlerB HM   MA
 NettlesT HM   MA
 W.L. McNortonG HM   MA
 W.L. McNortonG 1st   BN
 1954   A 
 FowlerE HM   MA
 McNortonC HM   BPH
 Nickey ManningG 1st   MA
 Nickey ManningT HM   BPH
 1953   A 
 Johnny FinkleaE 3rd   MA
 1952   A 
 Dick WilliamsG HM   MA
 Ronald BiggsE 2nd   MA
 Walter AndressT HM   MA
 1951   A 
 JayeG HM   MA
 WoodB HM   MA
 1949   A 
 TomlinsonB HM   MA
 1948   A 
 KlepicB HM   MA
 1939   A 
 Sam YarbroughQB HM   MA
 Sam YarbroughHB 3rd   MA
 StevensE HM   MA
 1938   A 
 SkipperG HM   BN
 StevensC HM   BN
 StevensG 3rd   BN
 StevensG HM   BN
 StevensT HM   BN
 StevensC HM   MA
 YarboroughFB HM   BN
 YarbroughFB HM   MA
 1936   A 
 JohnsonC HM   BN
 1923   A 
 LazenbyT 1st   BAH
 NettlesE 1st   BAH
 1922   A 
 AndrewsG 1st   BN
 1921   A 
 KinneyQB 1st   BN

NOTE: We recognize any All State Team we have completed for each classification. If we have omitted anyone selected to an All State Team please inform us once you have verified the source of the team. It is imperative we know who made the selection before it can be included. If you were selected by any organization for an All State Team and we do not have it listed, please submit the entire team for the appropriate classification. This is the only method to make additions to the information documents for All State Teams.
You may also make additions and corrections in the All State Forum.
Some records may be incomplete. We have chosen to publish this information in hopes our visitors will participate in assisting us to complete every school.
Join us in the forums to submit corrections and new information.

Great Moments in Alabama High School Football History

Hazlewood won five consecutive state championships from 1988-1992. During this span the Golden Bears won 29 playoff games in a row.