We now have 834 teams &  
188,070 games on

Search Site

AHSFHS Article Series

   The best of the best in Alabama High   
  School Football over the past 100 seasons.

Robertsdale Golden Bears

 Jeff Kelly 

Jeff Kelly was a standout quarterback at Citronelle High School. He was named to the honorable mention all-state team as a junior and a senior for the Wildcats. Following his high school career, Kelly spent four seasons as a quarterback at the University of Southern Mississippi (1998-2001). Coach Kelly graduated from Southern Miss with a MBA in 2001.

After a short stint with the NFLs Seattle Seahawks, Kelly took over the football program at Satsuma High school in 2004. Over the next four seasons the Gators went 15-26 qualifying for the playoffs twice.

In 2008, Kelly accepted the head coaching position at Jackson High School. In three seasons as the head football coach, he led the Aggies to a combined 32-8 record including a trip to the Super Six Class 5A finals in 2009. That team lost to Cherokee County in the title game.

In January 2011, he was named as the head football coach at Saraland High School. The program was only one year old at the time but with outstanding facilities it seemed they were primed for a winning program.

Over the first six seasons under his leadership the Spartans finished 52-21 with six playoff appearances. In 2014, the Spartans reached the Class 6A championship game only to fall to Clay-Chalkville. They returned to the championship game in 2018 but fell to Pinson Valley.

His 2022 football team won the first state championship in the history of Saraland by knocking off Mountain Brook in the Super Seven in Auburn.

Known Record:  165-69-0   70.5%
 Season Total   Playoffs   Region Record 
 Team   Season  Class   W/L/T   PF  PA   W/L/T  PF  PA   Region  Title  W/L/T   PF  PA 
Saraland2022 6A14-16452915-0220124R17-1333123
Saraland2021 6A10-34182002-18837R1#7-026487
Saraland2020 6A11-34471553-112947R16-123479
Saraland2019 6A10-14181470-12730R1#8-028685
Saraland2018 6A13-24611714-111180R17-126788
Saraland2017 6A8-43562181-16241R15-3252142
Saraland2016 6A6-53012670-1745R15-3249173
Saraland2015 6A8-33652300-11041R16-2270154
Saraland2014 6A13-25382194-114497R17-1298101
Saraland2013 5A12-24781913-18373R36-128793
Saraland2012 5A7-43492380-12733R35-2208156
Saraland2011 4A6-52253350-11236R14-3141236
 12 Years118-355001266222-1192068473-1830891517
Jackson2010 4A10-24391841-16344R16-1273109
Jackson2009 4A13-25792444-117094R16-1282103
Jackson2008 4A9-44102702-14249R1#6-1256124
 3 Years32-814286987-327518718-3811336
Satsuma2007 6A3-6205249R22-4110166
Satsuma2006 6A7-42882290-12427R24-2171130
Satsuma2005 6A3-82273160-11449R22-4146160
Satsuma2004 6A2-8186323R21-596196
 4 Years15-2690611170-238769-15523652
 19 Years165-697335447729-161233947100-3644232505

 The Fan Shop
Custom Sportswear, Merchandise & Apparel including T-Shirts, Sweatshirts, Jerseys & more
Records reflect scores in our database. Some records may be incomplete. We have chosen to publish this information in hopes our visitors will participate in assisting us to complete every school.

Join us in the forums to submit corrections and new information.

Great Moments in Alabama High School Football History

Marion County defeated Meek 83-6 in a playoff game in 2012. It is the most points scored by a team in a playoff game.