Forums Home | Profile | Join | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 History of High School Football in Alabama
 General Discussion
 1A-R3 tiebreaker
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Patriots70
New Forum Member

11 Posts

Posted - 11/02/2024 :  11:36:41  Show Profile  Visit Patriots70's Homepage  Reply with Quote
I guess I'm missing something, but the AHSAA bracket has Pickens Academy in as the 4, but shouldn't it be Holy Spirit?

Here's the AHSAA bracket - https://www.si.com/high-school/stats/alabama/football/brackets/10409

Holy Spirit/Pickens/RC Hatch all tied at 2-4 and played equal games, so it should have gone to non-region tiebreakers, which stand:

Holy Spirit - 1 (they beat 1-9 Sumiton Christian last night)
RC Hatch - 0 (only beat winless Sumter County)
Pickens Academy - 0 (no non-region wins)

I've had it as Holy Spirit and y'all have it as Holy Spirit. Any ideas? Am I missing a probation or something?

--

ALPreps.com

spartan91
AHSFHS Forum Superstar

222 Posts

Posted - 11/02/2024 :  19:16:47  Show Profile  Reply with Quote

I came here to ask the same question. PA's Facebook page says that they are in the playoffs.
Go to Top of Page

Patriots70
New Forum Member

11 Posts

Posted - 11/02/2024 :  19:42:41  Show Profile  Visit Patriots70's Homepage  Reply with Quote
In talking to David about it, I think I get why now. I feel like it could be seen a couple of different ways, but basically the tiebreaking procedure has seven rules that have to be used with tiebreakers A-Q using rules 1-7.

Tiebreaking Rule #7 says "Contests against teams that are not eligible for the championship program are not used in figuring any tiebreakers. Games versus out-of-state schools will count in the breakers if the out-of-state school is a member of an NFHS-member association and eligible for championship play in that state association."

I've always taken that as "the team you beat has to be eligible" and not a level deeper to where "the team that was beaten by the team you beat ALSO has to be eligible".

Holy Spirit beat Sumiton Christian, but Sumiton Christian's win was over Belgreen who isn't in a classification and therefore eligible for a championship. So that win doesn't count. I only took it the first step of Sumiton Christian and not the second step of who they beat.

The non-region tiebreaker is L, so it goes back to 0 a piece for all teams for that one. It then goes to tiebreaker M which is total victories of all teams involved, not just non-region.

It looks like the score there is:

Holy Spirit - 4
Pickens Academy - 4
RC Hatch - 3 (because Pickens Academy only had 2 and the others had 3)

While technically no one can "lose" a tiebreaker, basically RC Hatch lost the tiebreaker despite beating Pickens Academy because Pickens Academy had less wins.

So it became a two-way tie at that point so it was between Holy Spirit and Pickens Academy, and Pickens Academy won that game. So they are fourth.

--

ALPreps.com
Go to Top of Page

Bandkid15
Forum Member

27 Posts

Posted - 11/02/2024 :  19:50:41  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Patriots70

In talking to David about it, I think I get why now. I feel like it could be seen a couple of different ways, but basically the tiebreaking procedure has seven rules that have to be used with tiebreakers A-Q using rules 1-7.

Tiebreaking Rule #7 says "Contests against teams that are not eligible for the championship program are not used in figuring any tiebreakers. Games versus out-of-state schools will count in the breakers if the out-of-state school is a member of an NFHS-member association and eligible for championship play in that state association."

I've always taken that as "the team you beat has to be eligible" and not a level deeper to where "the team that was beaten by the team you beat ALSO has to be eligible".

Holy Spirit beat Sumiton Christian, but Sumiton Christian's win was over Belgreen who isn't in a classification and therefore eligible for a championship. So that win doesn't count. I only took it the first step of Sumiton Christian and not the second step of who they beat.

The non-region tiebreaker is L, so it goes back to 0 a piece for all teams for that one. It then goes to tiebreaker M which is total victories of all teams involved, not just non-region.

It looks like the score there is:

Holy Spirit - 4
Pickens Academy - 4
RC Hatch - 3 (because Pickens Academy only had 2 and the others had 3)

While technically no one can "lose" a tiebreaker, basically RC Hatch lost the tiebreaker despite beating Pickens Academy because Pickens Academy had less wins.

So it became a two-way tie at that point so it was between Holy Spirit and Pickens Academy, and Pickens Academy won that game. So they are fourth.

--

ALPreps.com



That is such a specific scenario I wonder how often this is pulled up.
Go to Top of Page

dparker
Forum Admin

1481 Posts

Posted - 11/02/2024 :  19:52:47  Show Profile  Visit dparker's Homepage  Reply with Quote
I think that settles that. After a bunch of texts and conversations we have the answer. Actually it was Kurt who came up with that suggestion and it seems to answer the questions.

Thanks Jon and Kurt.



David Parker
Administrator
AHSFHS.org
Go to Top of Page
  Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
AHSFHS.org Forums © 2007-09 AHSFHS.org Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.05 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000 Version 3.4.07