We now have 834 teams &  
188,070 games on

Search Site

AHSFHS Article Series

   The best of the best in Alabama High   
  School Football over the past 100 seasons.

Alabama All-Star Game


      The 1952 game was tutored by Euil "Snitz" Snider from Bessemer as head coach for the South and Ernest Teel of Gadsden as director of the North. Assisting Snider were Sam Mason of Clift High, Opelika; T. D. "Teedie" Faulk, Dothan; Robert E. Hanks, U. M. S., Mobile; and Norwood Hodges, A. G. Parrish High, Selma. Teel was aided by C. A. Douglas, Carbon Hill; Grady S. Elmore, Cullman; Pete Ray, Russellville; and Jack Green, Gadsden.

      This fifth annual All-Star game ended in a 7-7 deadlock. The South was favored to win but bogged down on two occasions in North territory. Don Conner, the fullback from Gadsden, teamed with Obie Lineville of Coffee, to spark a 55-yard drive for touchdown shortly after the opening kickoff. James Campbell of Etowah made the score from the two. Piggy Watford of Gadsden was a threat on every play.

      The South's lone score came on a pass from the II-yard line by Lanier's Bart Starr to schoolmate Nick Germanos. Starr was the unanimous choice for the outstanding back of the game. Jim Cunningham, the big tackle from Winfield, was named the outstanding lineman.

 North Roster 
 Player   Team   Position   Ht.   Wt.   Class   College 
  Jack Adrian  Cherokee County G Sr.  
  Sam Anselmo  Phillips Birmingham RG 221Sr.  
  Jackie Beasley  Carbon Hill G Sr.  
  Sam Belk  Hamilton T Sr.  
  Cotton Box  Hubbertville LG 195Sr.  
  James Campbell  Etowah QB 170Sr.  
 Don Connor  Gadsden FB 191Sr.  Alabama
  Jim Cunningham  Winfield T Sr.  
  Lewis Dollar  Athens C 213Sr.  
  Jack Estis  Curry HB Sr.  
 Bobby Golden  Pell City E Sr.  
  Dean Heathcock  Coffee C Sr.  
  Ray Keasler  Pickens County FB Sr.  
 Melton LeCroy  Guntersville HB 170Sr.  
 Osbie Linville  Coffee LHB6-0 180Sr.  Alabama
 Osbie Linville  Coffee HB6-0 180Sr.  Alabama
  Curtis Lynch  Wadley RE 210Sr.  Alabama
 Robert Lynn  Huntsville FB 188Sr.  
  Glenn Parker  Dora RT 205Sr.  
  John Poole  Coffee LE 175Sr.  
  Jimmy Powell  Dora QB Sr.  
 Wayne Ridgeway  Decatur HB Sr.  Vanderbilt
  Jim Roberts  Albertville LT 190Sr.  
  John Snyder  Holt E Sr.  
  Thomas Tillman  Haleyville E Sr.  Alabama
 Piggie Watford  Gadsden RHB5-8 160Sr.  Alabama

 South Roster 
 Player   Team   Position   Ht.   Wt.   Class   College 
  Johnny Adams  Bessemer RHB 165Sr.  Auburn
  Donald Allen  Lanett LE 170Sr.  
  Joe Autrey  Bessemer LT 185Sr.  
  Robert Boland  Opelika G Sr.  
  Ben Bowden  Eufaula T Sr.  
  Billy Brooks  Tuscaloosa C Sr.  
  Raymond Burke  Abbeville HB Sr.  
  Franklin Chester  Selma FB 170Sr.  
 Joe Childress  Robertsdale LHB 185Sr.  
  Randy Church  Dothan C Sr.  
  Paul Donaldson  Eufaula E Sr.  Alabama
  Albert Elmore  Troy QB 190Sr.  Alabama
  Joe Ferlise  John Carroll T Sr.  
  Nick Germanos  Sidney Lanier RE 185Sr.  Alabama
  Dean Gillespie  UMS LE 175Sr.  
  Bob Hinson  Florala QB Sr.  
  Robert Jamison  Ramsay LG 190Sr.  
  Buddy Moore  Butler FB 185Sr.  
  Lewis Reed  Murphy HB Sr.  
  Douglas Simmons  Dothan HB Sr.  
  Charles Smith  Clayton T Sr.  
  Bo Spear  Demopolis RHB 145Sr.  
 Bart Starr  Sidney Lanier QB 170Sr.  Alabama
  Lewis Veasey  Benjamin Russell RT 195Sr.  
  Eddie Wall  Selma RG 195Sr.  
  Ronnie Whitlock  Lanett C 200Sr.  

Great Moments in Alabama High School Football History

In 1970 Monroe Academy won the first championship in the A.I.S.A. by defeating Lowndes Academy 6-0.