Week 1 Impressions
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

TheMUBM
AHSFHS Moderator

645 Posts

Posted - 08/26/2023 :  14:16:04  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I won't call it week 0. That makes no sense.

I have been coming to this forum for many years. Since 2018 I have been making predictions. Over the years the activity has grown and more and more people have started engaging. It has made this forum a great source of information. Another thing I'd like to start is impressions from the week. Just a quick run down of what you saw from games you have watched. Now I know I watch more games than most people, but even if you only saw one, give us your impressions.

Thursday Night:

Winfield vs. Dora: I have been very high on Dora. They have a ton of size and physicality. They also have a great QB in Kesean Pryor. I thought Winfield would take a step back this year. Winfield was undersized, but their defense played phenomenal and kept Pryor in check. There were a lot of dropped passes on Dora's part but that is to be expected this early in the season.

Winfield sent a message to a lot of people, myself included (for picking them to be blown out in the Guru's segment) that they are here to stay and will be a tough out in 3A north. I still think Dora can be a player in 4A North, but right now they are in that second tier with West Morgan (Had to edit, forgot Jacksonville got moved to the South). Right now I believe it's Oneonta and Cherokee County and everyone else in the north.

Tanner vs Lauderdale County: I say this with the utmost respect. Watching Lauderdale County play football is like watching paint dry. They are going to run it down your throat, they are going to hit you on defense and hope they break your will eventually. That's what they finally did to Tanner late in the game. I had LCHS third in the preseason in that region. They should get second. Of course first is probably Mars Hill. Have fun with that.