We now have 827 teams &  
182,976 games on

Search Site

AHSFHS Article Series

   The best of the best in Alabama High   
  School Football over the past 100 seasons.

Alabama All-Star Game


      Steve Wade from Dothan High School led a potent South ground game to a 16-0 victory over the North All-Stars. The South racked up 231 yards rushing while a strong defense limited the North to 38 yards on the ground.

      Wade scored on a 14 yard run and rushed 99 yards in 15 tries in winning the most outstanding player award. Wade's touchdown was set up by a 34 yard pass from Lanier's Jeff Blitz to Melvin Jones, a speedster from St. Jude. The other touchdown came on an 82 yard runback of a pass interception by Smith Station's Sidney Cooper. The scoring was completed when Miles Jones of Fairhope booted a 26 yard field goal in the fourth quarter.

 North Roster 
 Player   Team   Position   Ht.   Wt.   Class   College 
 Dave Beck  Lee Huntsville B5-10 170Sr.  
 Steve Brown  Austin E6-0 185Sr.  Tennessee Martin
 Dennis Campbell  Dora C6-0 195Sr.  Auburn
 Charles Carden  Valley Head B6-5 200Sr.  Tennessee
 Benny Coley  Gadsden C6-1 175Sr.  Jacksonville State
 Andy Cross  Ensley B5-10 193Sr.  Alabama
 Wayne Hall  Huntsville B6-2 218Sr.  Alabama
 John Hannah  Albertville T6-2 250Sr.  Alabama
 Gene Hartman  Huntsville B6-2 215Sr.  Auburn
 Terry Henley  Oxford B6-1 180Sr.  Auburn
 Gary Hutto  Courtland E Sr.  Florence State
 Mike Hutto  Phillips Birmingham T6-1 225Sr.  Auburn
 Steve Isbell  Colbert Heights E6-2 185Sr.  
 Larry Kelly  Brighton G6-3 195Sr.  Miles College
 Jerry Kennemur  Hackleburg B6-1 180Sr.  Auburn
 B.T. Law  Cherokee County E6-5 210Sr.  Auburn
 Jimmy McArthur  West End B5-11 205Sr.  Georgia
 Ronald Morris  East Highland G6-1 210Sr.  Tuskegee
 Bill Morton  Deshler G5-11 210Sr.  Florence State
 James Owens  Fairfield B6-2 205Sr.  Auburn
 Phillip Pisani  Decatur HB6-0 190Sr.  Tennessee Martin
 Charlie Sellers  Holt T6-0 195Sr.  
 Don Shepherd  Gordo T6-2 185Sr.  Livingston
 Johnny Simmons  Childersburg B5-11 170Sr.  Auburn
 Danny Stallings  Addison B6-1 180Sr.  Ole Miss
 Ricky Strawbridge  Lamar County B6-2 175Sr.  Memphis State
 Waylan Trammell  Cherokee County B6-0 175Sr.  Samford
 Joey Watson  Russellville E6-2 185Sr.  
 Junior Whisenhunt  Curry T6-2 210Sr.  Jacksonville State

 South Roster 
 Player   Team   Position   Ht.   Wt.   Class   College 
 Marvin Barron  Charles Henderson G6-1 198Sr.  Alabama
 Ronald Barton  T.R. Miller B6-0 180Sr.  Jeff Davis
 Neville Bearden  Vincent B5-9 153Sr.  Jacksonville State
 Ellis Beck  Carroll Ozark B5-11 190Sr.  Alabama
 Harold Bissell  Shades Valley B6-0 185Sr.  Georgia
 Jeff Blitz  Sidney Lanier B5-11 182Sr.  Alabama
 Fred Brackett  Mary Montgomery E6-3 185Sr.  Georgia Tech
 Sidney Cooper  Smiths Station B6-0 191Sr.  Auburn
 Wilton Cox  UMS E6-2 192Sr.  Alabama
 Mike Dulaney  Banks G5-11 205Sr.  Continental College
 Doug Faust  Fairhope T6-3 230Sr.  Alabama
 Oliver Holmes  Bullock County G6-0 198Sr.  Texas El Paso
 Jerome Jackson  Benjamin Russell B6-1 178Sr.  
 Melvin Jones  St. Jude B6-0 170Sr.  Tuskegee
 Miles Jones  Fairhope B6-0 203Sr.  Auburn
 Willie Kirkland  Dothan E6-2 185Sr.  Livingston
 David Knapp  Ramsay B6-1 190Sr.  Alabama
 Ernest Lee  Lowndes County T6-2 215Sr.  Auburn
 Steve Lukey  Banks E6-0 185Sr.  Auburn
 Dave Lyon  Lowndes Academy B5-11 170Sr.  Auburn
 Herbert Malone  Citronelle T6-3 201Sr.  Southern Miss
 Willie Martin  Laurel G6-5 253Sr.  Alcorn State
 Bill McDonald  Benjamin Russell C6-2 185Sr.  
 Joe Moon  Jones Valley C6-9 195Sr.  Auburn
 Ronnie Parker  Dale County E5-11 175Sr.  Wallace Junior College
 Pat Raines  Sidney Lanier C6-2 200Sr.  Alabama
 Johnny Sharpless  Elba B6-0 160Sr.  Alabama
 Jimmy Sykes  Lanett B5-11 185Sr.  Auburn
 Steve Wade.  Dothan B6-3 180Sr.  Alabama

Great Moments in Alabama High School Football History

The Hazlewood Golden Bears have won 11 state titles. The most of any team in any classification since the playoffs began in 1966.