We now have 834 teams &  
188,070 games on

Search Site

AHSFHS Article Series

   The best of the best in Alabama High   
  School Football over the past 100 seasons.

Alabama All-Star Game


      The South took a 3-1 lead in the series with a decisive 27-0 victory in the sixth annual All-Star game. Operating behind a massive, quick-striking line, the South backs took almost an entire quarter to score the first touchdown -- going 81 yards in 24 plays. The only time the North threatened to score came when Noojin Walker made the longest run of the game -- a 57-yarder -- only to see the South defense rise up and quell the drive at its own 30.

      Walker, from Falkville, was voted the most outstanding back, while the South End Nolan Moore of Florala was named the top lineman.

      The winning Southerners were coached by J. H. Etheredge, Opp, who headed the staff; James Qunnin, Brookwood; Lewis Beaird, Lee County, Auburn; Carl Cooper, Marion; and Randall Hamner, Fairhope. The North squad was led by Head Coach Fulton Hamilton, Butler High, Huntsville; assisted by Bob Cummins, Leeds; W. R. McKinzey, Aliceville; Earl Warren, Fyffe; and Bill Farrell, Piedmont.

 North Roster 
 Player   Team   Position   Ht.   Wt.   Class   College 
  Frank Bonds  Ensley Sr.  
 Max Burleson  Hackleburg HB Sr.  Florence State
 Raymond Calloway  Alexandria FB Sr.  
 Fred Casey  Jacksonville Sr.  
  Arnold Coffey  Lawrence County HB Sr.  
  Jerry Cole  Jacksonville LT 215Sr.  
  Pete Cook  Alexandria LE 192Sr.  Alabama
  Jim Curd  Carbon Hill Sr.  
 Larry Donaldson  Phillips Birmingham C Sr.  
  R.L. Ellison  Tuscaloosa County FB Sr.  Alabama
 Don Garrard  Woodlawn QB 165Sr.  
 Johnny Golden  Oak Grove Sr.  Alabama
  Larry Gray  Huntsville Sr.  
  Don Gregorn  Glencoe Sr.  
  Hoyt Harris  Leeds Sr.  
 Tom Jeff Henderson  Winston County HB Sr.  
  Billy Hughes  Elkmont FB Sr.  Alabama
  Bobby Irvin  Sulligent LG 195Sr.  Alabama
  Glenn Johnson  Cherokee G Sr.  
  Max Kelley  Cullman RG 200Sr.  Alabama
 Oscar Knox  Hartselle HB Sr.  
  Billy Lumpkins  Coffee Sr.  Alabama
 Jimmy Lutrell  Jacksonville G Sr.  
  Marvin Miller  Butler LHB 180Sr.  Alabama
  Ray Minor  Bibb County FB 185Sr.  
  John Mitchell.  Haleyville C 182Sr.  
  Jerry Nabors  Talladega Sr.  
 Paul Putman  Butler RE 195Sr.  Alabama
 J.D. Robinson  Russellville T Sr.  
 Jimmy Sanderson  Hamilton HB Sr.  
  Dick Shelby  Hueytown Sr.  Alabama
  Harold Sisson  Haleyville Sr.  Alabama
  Jimmy Strain  Fairfield RT 195Sr.  
  Bobby Swearingan  Athens G Sr.  
  Leon Vines  Oak Grove Sr.  Alabama
  Noojin Walker  Falkville RHB 185Sr.  Alabama
  Bruce Waters  Piedmont Sr.  

 South Roster 
 Player   Team   Position   Ht.   Wt.   Class   College 
  Jerry Ashcraft  Tuscaloosa Sr.  
  Douglas Barfield  Clarke County QB 165Sr.  
  Ferman Barnette  Francis Marion Sr.  
  Jimmy Bowdoin  Elba FB 180Sr.  Alabama
  Kenneth Cherry  Ashford Sr.  
 Frank Christy  Bessemer RT 200Sr.  
  Dan Coyle  Ramsay RE 185Sr.  Alabama
  Roy Forbus  Benjamin Russell LE 190Sr.  Alabama
  Hannon Hairston  McGill Sr.  
  Charles Helms  Tuscaloosa G Sr.  Alabama
  David Hopkins  Ashford Sr.  
  Harry Jackson.  Opp Sr.  
  Kenneth Johns  Vigor RG 200Sr.  
  Lawrence Meadows  Benjamin Russell Sr.  
 Pat Meagher  Auburn LHB 166Sr.  
 Nolan Moore  Florala 166Sr.  McNeese State
  Charles Roney  Newville Sr.  
  Dean Shepherd  Troy Sr.  
  Jimmy Shivers  Francis Marion Sr.  
  Willard Shoults  Bibb County Sr.  
 Fred Sington Jr.  Ramsay LT6-2 235Sr.  Alabama
  E.G. Taylor  Bessemer LG 185Sr.  
  Jimmy Thompson  Bessemer RHB 155Sr.  
  Harry Tucker  Opelika Sr.  
  Jim Wilson  Sidney Lanier C 195Sr.  

Great Moments in Alabama High School Football History

The Prattville Lions won 56 consecutive regular season games between 2001 and 2007.